Join Us for a Conversation Exploring the MGTaylor Models

Design Formation model 

Friday October 23rd

5:00PM to 6:30PM CEST
San Francisco 08:00AM // Chicago 10:00AM // New York 11:00AM // London 04:00PM // Paris 05:00PM // New Delhi 08:30PM // Singapore 11:00PM // Sydney 1:00AM
(check timezone)

About The Model.

The Design Formation model represents the process employed by designers, architects, and manufacturers over the world. The model borrows its vocabulary and basic form from the architectural profession, but it lends insight into the creative process of many different fields of activity.

The word design means, in part, “to conceive, invent, or contrive,” but the term is used here to denote bringing intention to the process of invention. Formation is a clever and beautiful word with two meanings that both complement and contrast with each other. Formation is the process of producing, and it is at the same time the thing that is formed (as in a geologic formation). The spirit of the process is expressed in its own tangible form. One cannot learn the process of formation without coming to understand that which is being formed. One cannot study the tangible aspect of the thing formed without simultaneously perceiving the process. There is a continuous dialogue between the design (the intent) and the formation (the process and that which is created by the process).

The key question for this model is, “What is it that asks for shape and form?” This question is deliberately different from the typical design starting point: “What does the user (or customer or client) want?

From Matt:

“…The success of this model in the right contexts is an encouraging sign that we do not have to re-create everything in our society in order to transform it. We just need to look for tools that work and then embrace and use them.”

Using this model beyond architecture and stepping into the world of transition management, we could ask ourselves:

  • What is trying to happen in the world right now?
  • What patterns do we see?
  • Who are we designing for? A user, a group, the planet?
  • As we evaluate our work, how can we best face our own creation?
In order to prepare for this session, please read the model that you will receive once you have registered. It will ensure that we all have a common ground to start from.

What are the “Models of the Month” Webinars? 

You may have found our organization because you believe in the power of intentional process design and facilitation to solve complex problems.

One key element of our work is based on the MGTaylor models, both as design templates for creating multi-stakeholder journeys towards concrete outcomes, as well as diagnostic or auditing tools to understand the current or future state of a situation, challenge, intention.

Given the current state of our planet and the complexity of humanity as a driving force within — and aiming at creating a future by design and not default — it is now even more important to collectively explore the models at hand, and how they allow us to navigate this complexity together.

How can we as practitioners become better at what we do in service of humanity?

We, therefore, invite you to join a monthly conversation about exactly that: exploring the MGTaylor models, sharing experiences and discussing their application in areas of great need.

Workshop Hosts

Svenja Rüger

Svenja is a facilitator and designer of large scale collaborative sessions. Her passion lies in building resilient communities and facilitating collaborative processes to solve complex challenges on a systems level. She cares a lot about the challenges the world is currently facing and wants to support connecting the dots in order to create impactful, meaningful solutions. She promotes listening to understand, not listening to speak, and holds the space for what is trying to emerge.

Being part the The Value Web, she took on lead design and facilitation roles for international engagements with the World Economic ForumLEGO FoundationRockefeller Foundation, International Red Cross & Red Crescent, INSEAD Business School, Global Alliance for Improved NutritionBerlin Civil Society Centre, and many others

She believes in servant leadership, and that facilitation is all about making it easy.

Rob Evans is recognized as one of the world’s best known and most respected facilitators. He has taught thousands of leaders and facilitators in the private, public, and NGO sectors.

THE COLLABORATION CODE® is a book series curated by Rob Evans co-founder of Imaginal Labs. Book three in the series, Models: Frameworks for Transformation presents the entire set of models and terms of art in the MG Taylor Modeling Language, including many never-before documented models with illustrations by Kelvy BirdChristopher Fuller, and Kelly Adams.

For information about purchasing books, The Collaboration Code® 

Matt Taylor is a designer, inventor, teacher, facilitator, sailor and entrepreneur. He has focused his career on the application of architectural design methods to solving complex, systemic problems found at the intersection of physical environments, ecologies, organizational practices and visionary ideas. This work involves business processes, tool-sets and software programs, and includes their expression and utilization in the design, construction and use of virtual and physical environments for collaborative work and sustainable creative living. The components of these environments, and the environments themselves, are designed and built in regards their fit with, and long term impact on, social-economic-ecological systems.

The sum of his work is outlined in a System and Method co-invented with partner Gail Taylor. He is cofounder of the MG Taylor Corporation.

Subscribe to Learn About Upcoming Events

You don't have credit card details available. You will be redirected to update payment method page. Click OK to continue.